top of page
  • Lane Hamilton

What Being a Fashion Student is Like


What does being a fashion student look like? Well, I am almost certain it varies between all of us, but I am going to give you a little insight into what my experience as a fashion student has been like and what I typically do in a day.

My experience in school has changed a bit since freshman year. But back in the beginning I got to take a variety of classes in both design and merchandising. The first year and a half of being a fashion student start to determine what path we all take. I came to Belmont as a Fashion Merchandising student, and I am going to finish as one. But so many people I know decided they wanted to switch to design or merchandising after that first year. In order to determine my personal path, I took classes like Clothing Construction, Illustration, and Retail Buying. By the midpoint of sophomore year design and merchandising majors kind of split their ways and focus on more of the specifics of the major. And that brings us to where we are now.

  I am halfway through my first semester of Junior year. This year I specifically have noticed more of an application aspect of learning. The past few semesters were a lot of informational learning such as understanding Adobe and Excel and learning to do target research and analysis. But now I already have the knowledge and understanding of those topics and skills. So, the projects and classes I have this year involve using those skills. In my Entrepreneurship class, I am essentially making a business plan for a potential company I get to create. It takes heavy amounts of research and decision-making; however, I am thoroughly enjoying learning about the process and experience of creating a business. Another example of application learning is in my Merchandise Simulation course, in which we a quite literally simulating a merchandise plan. The most interesting and exciting part about it though is that we get to analyze and create our merchandise plan around a real company based in Nashville. My group even had the opportunity to talk to a representative from the company. We will also have the opportunity to present our product and merchandise plan to the representative at the end of the semester.

It is so cool to be able to see the shift from gaining skills and knowledge in my classes to using the skills to create new things. I can truly feel myself after each class I take gaining more industry knowledge and inching closer and closer to graduation and entering the industry.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page