top of page
  • Lane Hamilton

Looking Back: Unconventional Materials Challenge

As a kid, I always anticipated the Unconventional Materials episode of Project Runway each season. I was mesmerized by the ability of designers to think outside of the box and create runway-worthy garments out of random objects. However, I would have never thought that freshman year of college I too would have the opportunity to turn trash into treasure.

As I have been organizing my portfolio these past few months, one project consistently stands out as my favorite. In my freshman year Intro to Fashion course, we had the luxury to bend our brains and create a garment out of unconventional materials. Although it was not nearly as high stakes or fast-paced as the Project Runway challenges, it was certainly challenging and unique. Part of the assignment was to select inspiration from individual experiences or interests. I have always loved the outdoors. I like to sit outside, go on walks, play sports, or drive with the windows down, so naturally, I chose nature as inspiration. But how do I incorporate this into a garment? Well, my initial thought was turf grass. The logic was simple, turf grass is sold in sheets like carpet or rugs. I thought, “I can totally maneuver this into something that looks like clothes.” So, I was set on my mission, however, I decided that incorporating some fake leaves and flowers into the garment would make it a bit easier to navigate as well as make the garment more dimensional.

So, my process started by creating the skirt. The turf had a thick plastic backing which made it impossible to sew or glue together, so I opted for a wrap method. I cut the grass similarly to a circle skirt but left the back open so I could wrap and tie it together. What I did not expect was how incredibly heavy this material was going to be. I remember standing

in the studio and having to constantly have my peers hold it up in order to get in on the mannequin. With the material being so heavy I determined that if I attempted to attach a bodice of any kind the two would not stay together because of the weight difference. So, the bodice was formed out of fake monstera leaves and faux flowers in a corset-like style. I slowly began to adjust throughout the creative process by adding a second layer to the skirt and attaching lines of plastic eucalyptus leaf straps. The garments slowly became to envision a fairytale and left a trail of turf grass everywhere it went.

This project taught me so many things. Most importantly, and most obviously, it taught me to be limitless and gain inspiration from anywhere. It taught me resilience and trial and error. It improved my gluing and sewing skills. It also just left me with a passion and excitement to learn more. This project was the first crucial assignment that gave me almost full freedom of creativity. It left me with the confidence and passion to keep growing. And it truly is silly to me to look back and still be so proud of something I did during my freshman year of college. But as I sit here as a junior, it is important to see how my past work directly influences and correlates with my current work. There is growth shown but also consistency and passion. So, although I will keep creating and learning, I am thankful to be proud of the work I started with.



0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page