top of page
  • Lane Hamilton

Involvement at Belmont: Bruin Recruiters




One thing about me is that I’m going to be involved. In every stage of my life and school, I have wanted to join clubs and communities. In college, I have been able to recently join a very rewarding community that works with the Belmont Admissions office. I serve as a Bruin Recruiter; in this position, I get to promote the school and my degree program to prospective students. By being involved, I get to serve my community, and learn about new people and new things about my major.

So, what does a day as a Bruin Recruiter look like? Well, it’s not a super huge time commitment. However, when we are working it is so much fun! About three Saturdays out of the semester Belmont organizes Preview days. These days are all-inclusive, full-day, opportunities to see the school in the most exciting and elaborate ways. They offer academic sessions, campus tours, residence hall tours, club fairs, lunch on campus, and student panels. So where do I come in? Well, the Bruin Recruiters are the people who are located in a variety of places on campus to help with directions and give a student perspective on their academics and extracurriculars. Some Bruin Recruiters even give tours or speak during panels.

My typical preview day starts with welcoming prospective families to the information session. Shortly after I move to my academic college of O’More College of Architecture and Design. This is where I get to connect with wide-eyed and interested families. I get to talk about some of the interesting projects I’ve completed in my classes such as my Unconventional Materials Design Challenge or when I was able to create prints for the national nonprofit Hand to Hold. I get to describe what makes studying fashion special to me and how it is preparing me for my career goals. I also get to give a tour of O’More and share some of my classmates’ work with the families. I get to talk briefly about the other degree programs in O’More as well, which are Architecture and Interior Design. But my favorite thing out of all of these things is when I get to answer questions. The prospective students and families are always eager to ask questions about the program and my experience at Belmont. These are my favorite moments and connections to make because I get to know the people and understand them. I get to relieve their anxieties over all the information they have been given. Being able to interact and have these conversations brings the craziness back to Earth.



Although I have just started my position and have only done two Preview days, I have an immense love for what I get to do. I remember 3 years ago how important and pivotal my visit to Belmont was for my college decision process. The students who gave me my tour and the people who answered my questions are the reason I am studying here. If I am able to make even less than half of the impact those people made on me to new prospective Belmont students, then everything I have done will be worth it. Since I have only just entered the position, I haven’t had any students attend Belmont after I met them, but I am hopeful for the fall freshman class to include some familiar faces.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page