top of page
  • Lane Hamilton

My Favorite Fall/Winter Trends 2022

As the season has finally changed from summer to fall/winter, I cannot help but get excited about this season’s fashion trends. As a student, I am leaning toward some of fashion’s more casual and classic trends this season. I’m not the fondest of the cold but I love the ability to layer in the cold. The spring and summer seasons, although more comfortable, leave little to no room to layer and mix and match multiple garments. I have never been much of a warm-weather dresser, but the second it is chilly enough to add a cute coat or turtleneck count me in. This leads me to excitedly go through my current favorite trends for the season (in no particular order).

 



1) Leather




Leather has taken the world by storm this season; my closet included. I saw things like leather pants slowly coming about last fall and winter, but they are everywhere this season. Personally, I love the more blazer-cut leather jackets as well as classic-cut leather pants.







2) Puffer Vests




Puffer vests are back on the rise with Y2K’s recent comeback. Additionally, puffer coats are also prominent. Vests, however, are an easy throw-on to keep your core warm for a comfy outfit. I am loving the neutral colors in these lately such as creams and browns. They are perfect preppy transitional pieces.








3) Wide/baggy jeans  




Baggy jeans have been trendy for quite some time, but the long wide-leg cuts are an absolute staple this season. They are so cute and look fabulous with a sweater or turtleneck. One fabulous note about wide-leg jeans is that anyone can wear them. They flatter all sizes and heights as well as offer incredible versatility.






4) Chunky boots



My mom has always been the person to pick a new fall/winter boot each season to be her staple. And this year I decided to join her. I selected a chunky 90s-inspired patchwork suede bootie. And they are just stunning. They are bohemian and classy and so very comfortable. Chunky boots are so versatile for dressing up or down. With this trend has also come the return of Ugg boots. Which I am so on board with! In fact, I am considering DIYing my old tall Uggs into the trending minis.




5) Hot pink 



My favorite color has and always will be pink. So, obviously, I am so in love with the hot pink trend currently. Going by the term “barbiecore” this trend encompasses femininity and modernity in one. Creating unique pieces that are just so perfectly pink. For my recent semi-formal I wore a hot pink velvet wrap dress with brown heels, fully leaning in and accepting this trend.





 

Although I’m no trend or style expert, I am thoroughly enjoying this season's fashion. I love seeing past items such as Uggs or puffer vests come back with new life. Fashion is so incredibly creative and unique to each person and trends are such an interesting way to see how people interpret the same items differently.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page